Although 2021 was a good year for the cryptocurrency industry in terms of market performance, the number of jurisdictions banning crypto has more than doubled since 2018.

A report by the Library of Congress (LOC) details the nine jurisdictions that have now applied an absolute ban on crypto and 42 with an implicit ban. This is up from eight and 15, respectively, in 2018 when the report was first published.

The LOC is the research library for the United States Senate, acting as the national library for the country.

In the context of the LOC report, an absolute ban means any “transactions with or holding cryptocurrency is a criminal act,” whereas an implicit ban prohibits cryptocurrency exchanges, banks and other financial institutions from “dealing in cryptocurrencies or offering services to individuals/businesses dealing in cryptocurrencies.”

The nine new jurisdictions with an absolute ban are Egypt, Iraq, Qatar, Oman, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Bangladesh and China. China’s crypto ban received the most attention in 2021.

The dramatic increase in jurisdictions banning or regulating cryptocurrency over the past three years is not showing signs of slowing as several governments are currently reviewing their options. Aside from the 51 jurisdictions with a crypto ban, 103 have applied Anti-Money Laundering and combatting the funding of terrorism (AML/CFT) laws, a three-fold increase from the 33 jurisdictions with such laws in place in 2018.

A Swedish financial watchdog and the Swedish Environmental Protection Agency called for a ban on proof-of-work (PoW) mining in…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.